When making changes to a photo in Windows Live Photo Gallery the original photo gets backed up in the users profile automatically without asking to save. This is a good method if only one person accesses the photo store and backs up their whole computer. However this becomes a problem in several in scenarios.
1. A user has a folder share with all the photos. Once someone modifies a photo( cropping, black and white, sepia, etc) the original photo gets stored in that persons profile. The original photo is no longer available to others that access that photo share.
2. A user wants to back up his photo folder and simply copies the folder onto a DVD. The original photo doesn't get backed up.
Allowing users to at least have the option to change where the backup of the original photos are stored would solve this problem.
Google's Picasa does this in a much more elegant way. It saves the original photo in a sub folder called "original" in the original directory. This way uses can undo any changes done by anyone else.
Keeping the fidelity and accessibility of the original photo should be of utmost importance in Windows Live Photo Gallery.